Drying/Curing Water Based Inks - T-Shirt Forums

Hi, Unregistered. | Today's Posts

T-Shirt Forums
User Name
Password

Register Today For Free!

Forgot Your Password?

Site Navigation

+   T-Shirt Forums > T-Shirt Industry Information > Screen Printing > Water Based Ink Screen Printing
Discuss water base and discharge screen printing inks and curing methods. Share tips on getting the best results with the different ink manufacturers.

Drying/Curing Water Based Inks

Like Tree9Likes

Share This Thread Thread Tools
Old August 17th, 2011 Aug 17, 2011 7:00:19 AM -   #1 (permalink)
T-Shirt Lover
T-Shirt Fan

You can call me: Kerry
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)

Default Drying/Curing Water Based Inks

I am interested in water based inks because I like how they set into the fabric rather than the way plastisol inks tend to sit on top of the fabric and have more of a rough texture.

I'm new to the actual production and process of screening, and I'd like to know the process of drying/curing water based inks.

I went onto a website that I plan on buying some supplies from and saw some flash dryers, but they all seemed to be for standard plastisol inks, they said the method for curing/drying water based inks different. I found another flash dryer that was for water based inks but it was nearly 2,000 dollars.

It's kind of a vague question, but how can water based inks be dried/cured when applied to shirts or canvas tote bags? (the two materials I plan on printing on.)

If anyone has suggestions/answers it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old August 23rd, 2011 Aug 23, 2011 8:01:32 PM -   #2 (permalink)
T-Shirt Lover
T-Shirt Fan

You can call me: Kurt

Default Re: Drying/Curing Water Based Inks

Just used a 21 dollar heat gun from Ace hardware to cure and it worked out great.

Old August 24th, 2011 Aug 24, 2011 5:29:50 AM -   #3 (permalink)
T-Shirt Lover
T-Shirt Fan

Quote:
Originally Posted by pbk!