T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Taking into account that none of us that I know of are attorneys, have you ever heard of someone facing legal actions when using a last name or first name on a tee??. I was thinking of some designs but recalled Spiketv being sued by Spike Lee, eventhough the channel's content had nothing to do with him. I believe that he won that lawsuit. I just wanted to hear your opinions.

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Re: Your input

Something such as " Wade is my homeboy". It is a somewhat general last name but I am afraid that it will be taken like I am talking about the basketball guy.

·
Registered
52 Posts

Hello,
i am not a lawyer,but i think its perfectlly legal.It's just like saying "mikey is my homeboy" Anybody's name can be mickey.Again,i am not a lawyer just trying to play one.

·
Registered
283 Posts
Discussion Starter #7

thanks for your input folks. You are right, Spike did settle but personally I thought that it was somewhat silly, just my two cents =). I think that things such as " You're fired" can still get you in trouble. I know that people like Michael Buffer and his " Let's get ready to rumble" statement do make it a legal entity that defines their being and status. The wonderful world of laws.

·
Registered
302 Posts

"This is a very popular topic on the forums. Everyone has an opinion on this, however, none of them matter. You need to speak with a lawyer who specializes in copyright/trademark laws. Two-hundred people on this forum could post and tell you that it's perfectly legal to do but that won't help you WHEN (not if) you get taken to court."

:)

·
Registered
1,168 Posts

TeeShirtSamurai said:
"This is a very popular topic on the forums. Everyone has an opinion on this, however, none of them matter. You need to speak with a lawyer who specializes in copyright/trademark laws.
I couldn't agree more! When in doubt, speak to a pro.

·
2,957 Posts