T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
60 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm a noob trying to figure out a business plan to to profitably make low run orders. I know that if you only order 3 shirts or 3 plastisol transfers, per shirt/transfer it would be quite expensive...but what if you commited to spend, for example, $3,000 with a printer over the course of year. Are there printers that would then give you volume discounts even if you were only ordering low volume individual orders? Or do set up costs make this impossible? How much does it really cost to set up a screen?

I'm trying to figure out a way to offer a very large selection of designs without maintaining a ridiculous inventory of shirts. It just seems like if you have a very large selection, you'll constantly be getting orders for one or two designs...is there any way to profitably handle this?

·
Premium Member
27,691 Posts
How would you "prove" / "guarantee" to the printer that you are going to do that volume in a year (especially with no sales record)?

I think some printers might cut deals for high volume clients, but usually those clients are proven buyers (like moving from an old printer to a new printer or have a proven buying history).

I'm trying to figure out a way to offer a very large selection of designs without maintaining a ridiculous inventory of shirts. It just seems like if you have a very large selection, you'll constantly be getting orders for one or two designs...is there any way to profitably handle this?
Many people do this with plastisol transfers (or by gradually growing the line). If you have 10 different designs, you could try ordering the minimum number of plastisol transfers from a company (I think I read 15 was the lowest).

You could also try printing the designs yourself on demand if they are simple designs that can be done with a vinyl cutter.

·
Registered
3,800 Posts
Fat Tire said: