T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been thinking about starting a sublimation business but I am very worried about breathing in any fumes that are produced from the process.

I've heard that when you make mouse pads it stinks really badly, and I have to imagine that at 400 degrees, you are vaporizing dyes. That can't be healthy for you.

Not to go all biological on you but the way that your noes works is that you smell because little tiny particles are going inside of your nose, and that's how you smell it.

It doesn't bother me when those tiny particles are a good steak or some chocolate but when it's melting dye or rubber I'll start to get concerned.

Am I making a big thing out of nothing? What's the deal with the fumes?

·
Registered
8,082 Posts
well....I don't really notice the 'fumes' and I have been doing sublimation for over 10 years without any apparent issues...and I am as old as the hills...maybe older than some

·
Registered
9,361 Posts
You have to die of something. You are basically heating up a petrolium product (poly) and changing a solid to a gas and back to a solid (dye sub). Get the MSDS from your vendor to find out the risks.

·
Registered
61 Posts
I've been doing dye sublimation for the past few months.
There is a slight odor when doing "the process".

I just got done doing about 150 license plates for a customer, but I haven't noticed any issues.

I just got done doing about 150 license plates for a customer, but I haven't noticed any issues.

uhhhhhh... my head is spinning.

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
So then is the general consunsus that most people who use dye sublimation are not worried about any odors produced during the process?

Is anyone using a respirator or mask when doing this?

·
Registered
1,925 Posts