T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I'm thinking of starting up my own t-shirt/hoodie company.
But I have no background in fashion/textiles etc.
I was speaking to a factory manager and he began asking me questions of the weight of the T-shirts/hoodies. But I have no idea what I am looking for.

He mentioned a regular sweatshirt is 320 grams.

I know weights will vary depending on size, thickness of fabric etc. but how do i work this out?

is it as simple as just weighing the t-shirt?
or??

i'm totally clueless and have come to stop!

if anyone can help, i'd be so grateful

·
Registered
721 Posts
When they talk about the weight of the t-shirt or sweatshirt, they are really referring to the thickness of the fabric.

Take a regular t-shirt for example: Gildan makes 2 styles of the 100% cotton men's t-shirt. One is a 5.6 oz shirt, and the other is a 6.1 oz shirt. The 5.6 oz shirt is not as thick as the 6.1 oz. Some of the more trendy brands make a lightweight shirt that is about 4.5 oz -- that is going to be very light weight, and have a sheer quality to it (which is to say, more see through). So when I look at the weight of a t-shirt or sweatshirt, I'm thinking in terms of thickness of fabric.

Thickness of the fabric becomes important to me in a couple of different ways. One is cost - the 5.6 oz tee costs slightly less than the 6.1 oz tee. But, I cannot choose a tee based solely on cost -- I have to think about how the garment is going to be decorated. A 5.6 oz tee does not embroider nearly as well as a 6.1 oz tee. If I'm decorating with vinyl, a 4.5 oz tee is going to require a thin vinyl. And so on.

Besides weight, the fabric content is also a consideration. If you're using sublimation printing, your garment needs to be 100% polyester. If you're using vinyl or silk screening, then a 100% cotton, or a 50/50 cotton/poly tee is best.