T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I'm relatively new to screenprinting, but have researched alot on it and have overcome alot of small problems. However there is still one major issue I can't sort out. My screens always look runny and splotchy when the emulsion sets and dries. I have an image here of my screen after drying so you can see. I use Diazo photo emulsion, a scoop coater, I degrease my screens, I use fans to help speed up the drying time but this always happens. Maybe I'm not degreasing enough? I haven't the slightest clue why my screens aren't turning out with a nice even coat like you see in all the instructional videos on youtube and stuff! haha
if anyone can help me to figure out what I am doing wrong, that would be perfect! Thank you so much.

· Registered
487 Posts
Hi David

Welcome to the TSF!

Some degreasers are concentrated and aren't easy to rinse.
Note the scrub marks and strings of residue fisheyes
showing the up-direction of the screen during rinsing.
Experiment with a different degreaser, or dilute the one you have,
rinsing thoroughly with strong pressure.

I also would not rule out the wood frame.
Lumber varies alot, and this may be sap residue leached out by processing chemical steps.
If so, that problem would get progressively worse with each recycling.
You might consider testing with a sealed wood frame to reduce that potential contaminant.

Good luck and happy trails!

· Registered
319 Posts
yes DEFINITELY switch to roller frames. you can strtch your own screens, monitor tension.. sooooo much easier to remake a screen if it rips...