T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really have tried to search the forums to get the answer to this.. but what I'm reading / researching isn't quite clear. I'm a newbie - this is only my second post, so be patient with me please...
I am printing mostly text onto shirts. I have already committed to buying the Ricoh 7000 for sublimination transfers for other subtrates. I talked to an equipment dealer and he said I need vinyl and a cutter to print white lettering onto black / dark shirts. This is an added expense I wasn't anticipating and although the vinyl looks good - it also looks back breaking and time consuming with all of the weeding. So, my question is, can I print white letter using sublimination ink onto opague transfer paper (with the Ricoh) and then heat press that to a shirt? Thank you in advance for your advice and support.
All the best, from the Little newbie

· Registered
1,110 Posts
The short answer is no. There is no white sublimation ink and no sublimation solution for dark shirts. If you want to print on darks, you're either going to need to use vinyl, screenprint or direct to garment printing. Sublimation won't do it.

· Registered
132 Posts
You could use opaque transfer paper to create white text on a black/dark shirt, but you would still have to weed or cut out the background. Otherwise, you will have a big white square around your lettering. Vinyl or plastisol transfers would probably be your least expensive option for white lettering for black or dark shirts. F&M has a special for one-color transfers that may work for you:

15 cent One Color Heat Transfers

Hope this helps.

· Registered
1 Posts
The short answer is no. There is no white sublimation ink and no sublimation solution for dark shirts. If you want to print on darks, you're either going to need to use vinyl, screenprint or direct to garment printing. Sublimation won't do it.