T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi All

I've been stalking you guys and the site for approximately 2 years but never commented.

I need some advice as to what is the best format for printing a black outline onto a plain white tshirt. Basically I used to get the tshirts for the kids to colour in themselves (like in a colouring book but on a tshirt with fabric crayons). I started getting asked for them for gifts and decided to source packs of crayons and sell them as a set.

I've recently been asked to display and sell the collection (12 designs) in a local party store and am in the process of creating my own website to showcase all my other items. Unfortunately after recently receiving what promises to be a moderate and steady order the lady who I buy them from has just told me she is no longer supplying them.

I immediately contacted a local screenprinter who said he would be able to do them in short runs for £3.50 each plus £20 each for the screens (12 x 20=240).
Sue (artist) seems happy to let me continue using her artwork providing I pay her a fee. Then while talking about it a friend of a friend recommended it might be cheaper to obtain plastisol transfers and just do them as and when but then i would have to source a press as I don't own one. (I've just got an inkjet, a laser printer and cutter) I've used various types of iron on transfers and diamantes and hotfix so that side of it i'm comfortable with but i'm just dubious that they will last being after being washed and I don't want them to look poorer quality than previously or I'll loose my customers

I am just going round in circles as the outlay is alot initially for both screen printing and plastisol especially since I'm newly redundant and don't exactly have a large amount of cashflow. Plus I am not even really sure which option suits the project best. Is it worth paying the initial outlay in hope that in the long run things will build up.