T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

· Registered
371 Posts
To be honest I dont really know for sure. I am far from an electronics engineer.

It may well be possible but you would need to pay very close attention to the fuse rating and if they are slow or fast blow fuses.

I would imagine the job is fairly intricate as well.

If the wrong fuse type is selected and the soldering job not done correctly I can imagine that more damage can be done to the rest of the system which could be costly, so I need to urge you to be cautious.

There are a few companies in the USA ( I assume that is where you are located) that will repair the fuse if you send the board to them.

If you do want to integrate a fuse holder to the board then i would suggest having a local electronics engineering company look at it and give their verdict, in any case I think this option commes with a certain risk.

Jerry
DTG Digital

· Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #12 ·
Here are pics of the board. Equipment Zone said $150 to repair, SWF charges $226 for a new board. If this is something i can't fix, I would rather spend the extra $76 for a new board. I do know how to solder, I have just not seen any post about anyone fixing this particular board.

Attachments

· Registered
1,264 Posts
You might as well watch a few you tube videos on soldering and try it yourself. It really is not that hard. I had to do two of mine in the past. If you do not feel like you did an acceptable job, you can always just buy the new board.

I am actually shocked that the board is only $226 from SWF. I am also shocked that EZ wants $150 to do it.

· Premium Member
614 Posts
You might as well watch a few you tube videos on soldering and try it yourself. It really is not that hard. I had to do two of mine in the past. If you do not feel like you did an acceptable job, you can always just buy the new board.