T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
334 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I just had a couple of questions regarding suppliers...

1)Why does it seam(to me) they don't look at heat transfers as a lucrative business. I went down to get my resale license, which was no problem, so I can sign up with some of the local suppliers. When I contacted the supplier, they asked me about the business. Since I'm new at this, I dont' have any customers or contacts. Some of them told me only if I was doing embroidery or silk screening, but not heat transfers. I don't get why. Do they think that a garage based business can't be taken serious?

2)If many people use the same suppliers, why do some suppliers make it difficult to buy from them. I was told that they don't want new business to undercut their current customers. I "think" he was talking about buying the garments from them and then taking them to a silk screener who is also their customer. What does it matter if I bought the shirts and heat pressed them, embroider them, silk screened them, or outsourced some of the work to someone else?

They wanted to know who my silk screener, seamstress, embroidery shop, etc was. I was trying to be honest about everything(since I don't have any of those connections yet), but it seams that being new was a negative in their eyes.

Just curious since I've had a hard time getting started with the supply chain.

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Hi. I'd be inclined not to deal with those suppliers Joseph. It really isn't any of their business how you run your own venture.

I think the thing with heat transfers is they are thought of as more of a 'hobby' print method. Most office supplies sell heat transfers, Avery brand in particular. Even though it's a chore, most are advertised as just needing an ordinary domestic iron to apply. It's that association.