T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Tshirt Ninjas. I hope this will help somebody out.
This is what I found out that you need to legally do business in Las Vegas.

1-First thing I did was trademark the Russian Roulette Clothing Logo. This is actually optional but I suggest it to protect your brand from the get go.

United States Patent and Trademark Office

It costs around $300.00 and takes some time but dont get ripped off and pay a lawyer thousands of dollars when you can do it yourself. I got through the process by myself and I am no legal expert but with a little tenacity you will be fine.

2-Get incorporated. I chose the LLC option. Its simple, plus it will protect you from lawsuits if someone decides to sue you for some reason. I paid a lawyer to do this. He got me the business license and incorporated into a LLC with a EIN number for about $1300.00. It was a deal (I believe) and I know it was done right. I used Robert Johnson at Nevada Trust Attorney, Forming Nevada Corporation Tell him Matt from Russian Roulette Clothing sent you!

3-Get a Tax Id number, also known as a resell license, resellers permit, whatever.....its all the same.

You need this in order to avoid paying tax to your screenprinters or when buying supplies or for selling your shirts to stores. The store needs this number on file for legal reasons. Alot of events want you to have this so they know you are legit and paying the state tax for your sales. I know paying tax sucks but its part of the business. You then pay tax quarterly to the State of Nevada. This Tax Id number will run you about $115.00 at the Grant Sawyer building which is by Cashman Field.

4-Now you can do events, sell your merch to stores or whatever and you are much better off than you were before! Legal and Legit.