T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm a newbie and I'm not sure what mesh count I need. I am using water based ink, and I'm only going to use one or two colors, three at the most.

I saw a video on Ryonet's youtube channel where they advised the use of 280, 230, or 305 mesh for water based environline inks. I have water based ink, not the environline water based ink and I don't know if that makes a difference.

And when I do a search on this forum, I see people are recommending those same mesh counts for a full cmjk water based printing, but I don't understand the different printing processes and I'm not sure if I'm doing the cmjk method or not. I know I was going to use Corel Draw and print my image on to a transparency film with an inkjet printer. But, I'm not sure which method you would call that.

I'm not doing any of that foil or glitter junk so I don't need large deposits to go through the screen. I'm guessing I should go with 280 or 305 but I wanted to make sure that's what others would recommend in my case. What do you think?

·
Registered
202 Posts
Let me see if I can help,
As far as processes in screen printing, the dominate one is called Spot Color printing, basically this means you are printing specific spot colors that are pre-mixed to match a certain color. The other process is called "process" and it is where you print CMYK and by printing the inks near each other you can simulate other colors (think of inkjet or paper printing). Usually screen printers use process printing to do real life images or where the print would require more than a dozen colors.

For mesh counts, since waterbase inks have a tenancy to dry in the screen, more open mesh counts (smaller number) are usually better. Also, a more open mesh will allow for better saturation and coverage.
We suggest a 110-160 mesh.

I hope this helps point you in the right direction.
Good luck,

·
Registered
283 Posts