T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
What's up guy i dont know if someone has asked this questions before but since I'm just getting into screen printing I don not a whole lot about it. So here I go, I would like to start making screen printed yard signs but I wanna know what mesh count I should use for just big text, no detailed images. Should I use 24, 38, 60, 86, 110 mesh.........? and also what kind of ink would it go with it? water based? plastisol?

I would appreciate any input from you guys....

Thanks in advance....

Juan :)

·
Registered
911 Posts
i HAVE A COUPLE 4X4' screens here from a retired signmaker and they are 160, and it looks like he was using an enamel with retarder.
Im sure youll find what ink is best here.
Good luck, im thinking of screening some of the large repetitious jobs that come thru here, so I'm curious too.

·
Registered
911 Posts
Also I have some materials here from a retired screener...and he was using one shot enamel for fridge magnets.

·
Registered
752 Posts
We use Saati Hi-Tech 230 mesh, 25-30 Newtons.
Naz Dar has a specific air dry ink for corrugated plastic.
This is the ink to use.

·
Registered
2,919 Posts
Ditto Chuckh's advice. The air-dry solvent ink Nazdar sells is called Corogloss. You also have to get the appropriate thinner/retarder to mix in at 10% - 15%, and keep your screen flooded between print strokes. And, get an all-purpose graphic ink cleaner to clean the mess out of your screen and off your squeegie. After that, your usual ink degradent in your washout sink and water will finish it up.
And, work someplace where there is plenty of ventilation, and it doesn't hurt to buy a respirator from Home Depot made for solvents, unless you want to wind up like those guys that huff aerosol paint from a paper bag . . . permanently stupid.