T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello
Ive been wanting to put photos on t shirts for my customers I have no idea what kind of printer i should buy I want my cutomers to be happy with the out come
any help would be great
thanks
Donita

·
Registered
8,082 Posts
I think you will need to give us more info..
are you going to use an inkjet or laser
are you going to print on white/light colors or on dark
are you looking for least hand

In general....use an inkjet and pigment ink ...such as Epson C120 or for laser use Okidata
for paper pick one that is compatible with the garment..JPSS for white/light garments , for dark...check out Iron All. for Lasers use either Duracotton or Image clip..only for white/light garments...nothing for darks

You will also need a heat press.. home iron will not be a viable choice..

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
sorry Im new to the fourm
I have a heat press, the only experience i have are with stock transfers
I think I would perfer ink jet I just want the photo to look good at last.
I will be pressing onto lights and darks
thanks
D

·
Registered
8,082 Posts
for lights...JPSS seems to be the best choice...and for darks...in my opinion there is not a really good transfer for darks...the final result in most cases feels like a rubber raincoat.. so I don't do short runs of darks..I don't do less than 36...and then I use plastisol transfers that I out source...check the threads..Rodney has a great thread on plastisol transfers.

·
Premium Member
7,661 Posts
I also use JPSS/Jetprosofstretch for lights, and for darks, dark paper being as what Charles describes, has a heavier hand, you can feel it on the shirt, but I do use it, my favorite is Ironall Dark. Lighter hand than others, stretches with the shirt, great color retention. Ironall Dark has other names, too, depending on who is selling it, like: Everlast Dark, Translution, JetFlex...