T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone,

What is Pantone Transparent White? I'm a designer learning to design for my screen printer. I tried K 0%, and black C 0% and I don't have White TPX nor is that a solid coated. Is Pantone Transparent White available in AI CS4 color books? If not, how do I find it? Or How do I make it? He said he wants Pantone Transparent White. What does that mean???!!!

Thanks

·
Registered
275 Posts
Its just a Pantone color to represent white in a design. Its in the Pantone Solid Coated palette I know for sure. Who is insisting on this? A screenprinter? If so, any standby color for white, such as P7541C will work just as well for separations. DTG would probably want a white, but I don't know why they wouldn't want to CYMK palette.

·
Registered
230 Posts
Hi,

I think they are asking a bit much of you. What they are asking is for you to supply artwork with the white that isn't goig to be printed as Transparent white.

This is easy for any screen printer to change, but the best way for you is to select the colour that needs to be transparent white (in Adobe Illustrator) and go to the colour window and set click the white box with a red diagonal line through. This changes the colour of the selected item as 'Transparent'. The only problem might be that everything under then becomes visible.

I hope I've understood this correctly. I'm giving this advise as someone who prints and creates artwork. There is no such Pantone as 'Transparent White'.

If I was asked to print transparent white i'd print with water.

Debbie

·
Registered
230 Posts
OK.

He just wants a white that's different to the printed white, so make this c,m,y,k, 0,0,2,0.

It looks the same but he knows it's a different colour.

·
Registered
123 Posts
This may not have anything to do with what the OP is inquiring...