T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First of all I am brand new to the t-shirt business. I just came up with my idea for a line a couple weeks ago and now I have a couple questions regarding the tags.

I have someone designing my graphics now and I still have to find where to buy shirts and where to get them printed. (Still reading articles on here for those answers.)

Ok, I want to remove the tags that come standard on the shirts and then print my own label in them like a Hanes Tagless shirt. I am reading the article now on the shirts that have tear aways tags. Can I simply do this somehow with an iron and custom labels? I don't know where to get the iron on labels made.

If this isn't feasible please let me know. I want my shirts to have their own labels the cheapest way possible.

·
Administrator
14,188 Posts
Yes, you can use iron on transfers as labels.

Some of us silkscreen the label, just like we silkscreen the design on the front of the shirt.

While tear away tag shirts are convenient, you don't have to limit yourself to them if you want to print your own labels. A nice sharp razor also works very well to remove traditional labels from tees. You just don't want to buy "tagless" shirts, as the label is already printed on them and it is more difficult to print over them.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks, I figured that I couldn't use the tagless shirts for that reason. So where would I have these custom labels made/purchased.

·
Administrator
14,188 Posts
Thanks, I figured that I couldn't use the tagless shirts for that reason. So where would I have these custom labels made/purchased.
Well, if you have a pigment printer like an Epson, you could try to print them yourself.

Or, you could purchase platisol transfers, which requires a heat press. Here is all you need to know about plastisol transfers http://www.t-shirtforums.com/t-shirt-crossover-diary-heat-press-newbie/t13454.html