T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone! I hope Im in the right place, at last...
Im looking all over the net, to find information about Tshirt making. I would like to get started, but can't seem to find enough information.
I would like to start printing on Tshirts, not as a buisness, for now, but as a hobby. but I want to get fantastic results.
I bought these iron on transfer sheets, and thought it will give me good results. as you may guess, it didnt...

the only thing I managed to figure out, is that the only way for me to do so is by sublimation.
(am I right?) I am only a broke student, and that's why...

could you please connect me, or explain me how?
what do I have to know, before starting? will I be able to print on dark fabrics?
what kind of a printer do I have to buy? A digital one? do I have to change its ink to sub-dye by myself?
how about presses? are they absolutly needed? or is it possible for me to just iron the pattern?

what kind of paper do I have use?
I found a very cheap printer, which is written under sublimation printers... epson C91... the price is about 200$... is it worth it?

thank you for any help!

·
Banned
2,512 Posts
Being you are a student with limited funds and new to dye sublimation I would suggest holding off on making shirts yourself. Although it can appear to be easy it can be difficult to master. Just to get started with printer, paper, ink, heat press, blank shirts you are pushing $1,000 on the low end. So many people start off in this thinking it is so easy and do not have the right expectations and end up getting frustrated and quit. Dye sublimation would be an expensive hobbie for a college student.

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok... thank you!
but I would like to start anyway... is there a cheaper way to do this? like, I dont know, digital printing?
how about these questions I asked?