T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all screenprinters!

I am still fairly new at the process of screen printing, but working intensively on mastering the techniques! I have printed many jobs on lights, but have yet to print on a dark garment using white.

What brand of white ink should I purchase to be able to smoothly print by hand a white underbase or bright white design?

I have been looking at both Union and Wilflex-- The union colors I have been using are soft and opaque. I have a gallon of Wilflex bright tiger and white buffalo-- both of them to be way to thick to print-- and when I try to print (110 mesh), my print is not a solid coat- but rather gives a vintage-like texture (a texture like a heather gray shirt).

I don't know if my problem is that i'm not loosening up the ink enough before I print, or just need a set of ink.. Can anyone help?

Also, it fails the stretch test after running through the conveyor. After curing, it cracks, and after a wash, it fades.

Is there an ink, perhaps from Union, that is soft, opaque, and easy to manually print with?

· Registered
187 Posts
I use the Wilflex ink tiger bright, it is thick. I usely pull the ink throught twice, and it looks opaque, it dose not crack after it gose throught the dryer, are you running it throught thr dryer to fast. LaTonya

· Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I dont think so, my setting has no problem with any other ink. It's only white that has that problem. I tried to print flash print with bright tiger, but wasn't successful. It still wasn't a smooth, opaque print.

I also used it as an underbase and was completely unsuccessful. i stretched the tee after it was cured and failed miserably... the ink on the shirt kept the shirt stretched and distorted the image..

· Registered
691 Posts
I've used them all and have stuck with union diamond white. We print with an auto though so you may have different results on a manual.