T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am playing around with my new L24 at the moment and am having difficulty with small text. (appears a few people have the same issue with the LP).

The font is reasonably small, each letter is around 1/8 inch. block font. nothing fancy. I have a brand new 45 degree blade in the machine and have tried a lot of different settings, lowest speed, lowest downforce, highest downforce, medium downforce, changing blade protrusion etc etc etc. but I always get the same issue, when I pull up the outer box of vinyl it takes half of the lettering with it, the text is too small to be able to hold each bit down even with a small tool. the clear backing is getting abrazed so I know it is cutting far enough.

The vinyl I have is not a known brand to you guys (its all that s available in my location) I have two types, one is called UCUT50 (50 microns) the other is PU90/UK90 (90 microns thick).

should i be using a 60 degree blade maybe? i thought that was for thicker stuff only? could anyone share their settings for me to try?

·
Registered
11 Posts
Haven't used USCutter, but if you have some kind of overcut function, try to use that, helps with weeding.

Also material with stickier backpaper helps.

·
Registered
183 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Haven't used USCutter, but if you have some kind of overcut function, try to use that, helps with weeding.
well it does not sure how to use it though, I saw another thread where someone suggested cutting it at a lower pressure, then running it through again at a higher pressure. Could be worth a try.

·
Registered
1,959 Posts
The overcut and also simply running the job again without resetting your origin (so it cuts right over the same area again) could work.

Some vinyls simply have limitations to how detailed you are able to cut and weed out of them. Have you tried making the design slightly larger or less detailed?

·
Registered
183 Posts