T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 37 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm in a dilemma, I'm very brand new to this and need help.

I'm trying to decide should I just create an Etsy shop or should I design a website. I was looking at wix.com and also thinking about Shopify. A friend of mine said he didn't have much luck on Shopify but that one person. I really need help. So far I've only created Instagram and Twitter until my designs are printed. What do you suggest?

·
Registered
2,628 Posts
Its hard to say without seeing what your designs look like. I'm not too familiar with Etsy but if you think your designs might sell there (the people you will market to shop there) and its very easy and inexpensive to get started then you could try it. If you have your own site then you'll have more control over it and have a greater chance of being more profitable over time but it takes a lot of time to build and maintain a site. You might do both. Start with Etsy while you plan and build your own site. That way you can start making money on Etsy (and learning what sells) while you create a good site instead of starting with a inferior, quickly made site because you're anxious to get started.

·
Registered
3,654 Posts
The advantage of Etsy, eBay, Amazon, etc is that people go there with the intent to buy, or at least shop, for stuff. So if someone goes to Etsy and searches for "Anteater Shirt" and you have one, they just might click on your shirt.

Now imagine you have your very own URL and web site. And there is an anteater shirt on it. Who knows or cares? Sure, you might come up in a Google search ... on page 20, or so. Your independent shop is not going to have the SEO chops of an Etsy.

Yes, you can spend money on Google AdWords, and the like, and maybe you should. But Etsy is a pretty good deal for what it is, and is worth a try if your product meets their criteria.