T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Is there anyone who can recommend any tried and true web hosting providers that offer a competitive price for their service. I went to ifreelance.com and got some bids on someone building a website for me but I would be responsible for the marketing and trying to get into the search engines and such or should I pay a web hosting service that "claims" to set it up for me and get me results through the search engines all in one?

Many thanks to any and all replies.

·
Registered
4,766 Posts
Re: I'll gladly pay you Tuesday for recommendations today!

I never believe anyone that says they can get you ranking. I have been doing this for about 10 years. They can however place the necessary information that good websites have and hope that they did a good enough job that the search engines pick them up.
Go to Yahoo and do a search for my name "Louis Robin" Out of 6 million my company is number 2. I never paid anyone to get me there.
My cat site feline USA under search "Pedigree cats" is in the top 5. This all because of the correct coding, meta files and word content.

·
Premium Member
27,691 Posts
Here's a good thread I found with a forum search for: hosting
http://www.t-shirtforums.com/showthread.php?t=705&highlight=hosting

As Lou said, never pay someone to do your search engine marketing for you. You really need to learn the simple basics (which can all be found in this forum).

It will take a bit of research, but once you understand the basics of how search engines find and rank sites, you'll see that you don't need to pay a company to do it.

Don't worry about companies that say they'll submit you to 1000 search engines and directories. There are only a handful of search engines that get used on a day to day basis by 99% of online shoppers (AOL, MSN, YAHOO, GOOGLE).