T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I had some t-shirt samples printed with a screenprinter that uses water-based ink, and although the quality of the fabric was good (semicombed, ringspun 100% cotton), after the first wash i noticed an intense case of fibrillation (see attachment). It was black ink on white t-shirt. Now i'm a designer, not a screenprinter so i am not aware of all the little tricks of the screenprinting art, but what can i ask the printer to check if she did her job right? Is it a curing mistake? Could it be a fault of the t-shirt? Would a smoother t-shirt, jersey or 90% cotton-10% elastan, react better ?
cheers
Ioanna

Attachments

· Registered
2,140 Posts
I think it would be a curing issue, waterbase inks do not sit on top of the shirt like plastisol inks. Fibrillation happens when the ink that is suppose to sit on top of the shirt get pushed down into the fibers.

· Registered
38 Posts
It looks like the red is very faint. The printer may have not had enough squeegee pressure to drive the waterbase ink into the shirt. There could also be a problem with the amount of time the t-shirt was in the dryer tunnel. I've had this happen when the ink didn't get driven in to the shirt ( either pressure or quantity of ink laid down on the garment).

Did you only do one shirt? How are the other shirts?

· Registered
11 Posts
it could be a number of things. very valid ones as said above. but it could be the quality of the shirt even as well. i have noticed that the waterbased shirts that i personally have have done the same after 1 or two washes. water base ink will get softer and lose some of the brightness as washed. pretty much the nature of the process. why a lot of printers and designers want to use it for the "vintage" look. i have noticed that using a chino base or a fashion soft base with give that soft look people are looking for but hold up a lot longer in brightness on the shirt.

· Registered