T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We've had a few of shirts we made for ourselves start to crack recently. We haven't heard back from any of our customers that they have had this problem. It's all been on 50/50 blend Jerzees sweatshirts. We're following the directions for the vinyl on heat/pressure/length of press. Has anyone had this happen?

·
Registered
996 Posts
Need to know what vinyl your using. Are you using a teflon cover sheet? Pre-streching shirt and after press? Post press with teflon sheet? Soooo many questions...so little time. :)

·
Registered
600 Posts
Need to know what vinyl your using. Are you using a teflon cover sheet? Pre-streching shirt and after press? Post press with teflon sheet? Soooo many questions...so little time. :)
I've been heatpressing vinyl for 10 yrs. I've never heard of Pre-stretching a shirt. I do Post pressing but why to you use teflon. How do these steps help the final product?

·
Registered
911 Posts
Are the details real fine? I found t vinyl is more prone to cracking the thinner your lines are. Maybe you need to find better vinyl as there are some made for spandex etc. and are more able to stretch.

·
Registered
996 Posts
Judy: Found through trial and error that...wait...I use Thermoflex plus....If I press using a teflon sheet, the colors come out a little brighter. Sorry about the pre-streching thing. I was thinging about transfers. I up my temp about 5 degrees and press for 5 seconds more. I then post press with teflon for 10 seconds. Result is very soft hand and long lasting. Customers tell me the shirt goes before the lettering. I also do a lot of photo JPSS along with vinyl. Comes out great but thats for another post.

·
Registered
97 Posts