T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all. First post other than intro here. I am very new to screen printing. I am just about to purchase a Vastex v1000 6 color 1 station press. I have read and shopped around and think this is the one I should get. However, I spoke with the sales rep today and he informed me that doing dark shirts would take forever. He said I would have to wait forever for each color to flash and cool. I am very limited on space and want to be able to put a white base down before doing 4 color process. I've read you semi cure the base with flash, then let it cool and then do the 4 color process wet on wet. I will do single color prints too. I just wanted to start with something I could use and not be too limited. Does anyone have any thoughts on this press for a newbie? Has anyone used this press? Has anyone used a 6 color 1 station press before? If so, how did it work for you. I'm limited on space and this press is at the very top of my budget. Thanks in advance for any advice.

·
Registered
289 Posts
Definitely go with at least a 2 station. The 1 station will take forever to do prints with a flash. Don't limit yourself right out of the gate, especially with a 6 color press. The 6 colors are extremely versatile and you'll be amazed at how much you can print and how few jobs you'll have to turn away. We have a 6/4 old Hopkins International, a 6/2 Silver Press, and a 1/1 press. We rarely run into something we can't print, and the 6/4 is a little over double the speed as the 6/2 as far as prints per hour with a flash.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·