T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
985 Posts
I am not an expert in sublimation by not means, but I think sublimation is only for whites and light colors..

·
Registered
8,082 Posts
There is NO sublimation for dark shirts...since it dyes the fabric ...hard to do on black...besides it is made for only 100% polyester or some light pastels.....

didn't you post the same in another thread????

Answers are still the same

·
Registered
358 Posts
I'm not an expert in regular transfers but I do know that sublimation paper is coated especially for the sublimation dye transfer process which is much different from other transfers.

·
Registered
2,984 Posts
There are papers made for dark shirts, but I'm not sure if they use sub dye or if they use regular printer ink. I've never used one before. There's a Jetprosofstretch for dark material. I think that's what brand I saw it under. Anyhow to print on darks you have to have a white background under the transfer paper, so there are special papers for this process. Some are one step and some are two steps, but from what I understand you have to do a lot of cutting around the images so there is no overlapping of white material.

·
Registered
1,617 Posts
We recommend the Subli-Dark paper for dark transfers to cotton using sublimation inks. Works well. You need a cutter like the Roland GX-24 to remove unwanted parts of the transfer. Hope that helps.

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
There is a thread of mine buried somewhere in the sublimation section where a couple of people had used subli-dark paper. They stated that the hand on it was quite significant. It was actually being sold as sublimation vinyl, so with the combination of that and sublimations inks, it 'should' wash very well.

·
Registered
1,617 Posts