T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everybody, I'm new here.. I was surprised to find this forum, but glad I did.

I'm completely new to tshirt printing and all that, but I've been wanting to design my own shirts and things since I was just a little kid. I'm looking now to give it a shot, but.. here's where I need your advice and guidance.

I DON'T want to go with the standard heat press stuff, or whichever method produces the image in a "layer" on top of the fabric. I read that dye sublimation(?) would be perfect for what I'm thinking, but only works on synthetics - I'm stuck on 100% cotton.

So, I'm wondering.. it IS possible to dye or bleach a cotton shirt. So, is it possible to do so under more.. controlled circumstances? I'm wondering if it's possible to print your design on a shirt using dye. Would there be limitations as to what you could do? I imagine that bleeding would be a problem, but that would boil down to technique. I know that there are "dye markers" available as well, but if I wanted to run a few shirts off using a template or something that just wouldn't work.. and I think they are limited in colors.

Anyway, I'm basically looking for a way to put my designs on shirts by dying the fabric, rather than printing on top of it - and yes, I'm stuck on the cotton deal. I hope you guys can help me figure this one out! Thanks much,

Chance

·
Registered
3,187 Posts
chance_b said:
So, I'm wondering.. it IS possible to dye or bleach a cotton shirt. So, is it possible to do so under more.. controlled circumstances? I'm wondering if it's possible to print your design on a shirt using dye.
Hi Chance, welcome to the forums. :)

I haven't heard much about using dye on a shirt (besides tie-dye), but I know that you can attain a "bleached" effect (white or light design on a dark shirt) using the discharge method of screen printing.