T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Help me please. I have been using my flash to cure out shirts since I started a few months ago. I just received a call telling me that the ink fell off of a shirt after the second wash. I remembered having one of that particular order left over and washed it to see for myself and the ink did indeed come off in some spots.(Only on the white ink though) I have my flash set at 2 inches and cure for 1 minute. If I leave it any longer the shirts start to smoke really bad. Any clue to why this happened only to the white ink???

·
Registered
815 Posts
Get a laser temp gun and make sure all your shirts are cured to 320 degrees, don't mind the smoke a little smoke is okay!

I have cured with my flash without issues this way.

·
Registered
2,919 Posts
How thick is the ink? If you're printing white ink on darks, and you're really loading up the ink with print/flash/print it's possible that the ink at the bottom isn't curing completely. And, a flash unit will often leave the ink around the perimeter of the design cured less than that in the middle. A stretch test will help determine cure, but with a flash you're going to have to make sure the entire design is cured all the way through . . . not just the part in the middle where it's hottest.

·
Registered
9,534 Posts
Tom, how many seconds would you recommend the ink to stay at say 320F?

I have read that 25-30 seconds (more or less) under a heat press is ideal but some people claim plastisols can be cured in 10 seconds I think. I am sure that the recommended dwell time of commercial conveyor dryers is much higher than 10 seconds.

This post in another thread says 45 seconds
Yes, you can cure plastisol with a flash dryer. We recommend the unit to be 3" off the garment and leave it under for 40-45 seconds. This is an estimate, it may take longer by a few seconds or shorter as the shirt board heats up.