T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, I just got a heat press from Heat Press Nation, their Signature Series. It seems decent for its price, but when I did the pressure test with a piece of paper, there's a spot on the middle left that won't get as tight as the rest of the platen.

I cranked the pressure up super high, and the paper is tight everywhere else, but I can still slowly slide it out of this area on the left in the middle (the corners are tight).

I did some tests and HTV seems to adhere ok (I'll wash tomorrow to see if it survives), but a few (not all) plastisol transfers had issues with peeling and/or not sticking on the first press. I'm fairly new to heat pressing and don't do much plastisol transfer stuff anyway, but I don't want to be limited by this press if I decide to use it more later on.

I've had a month-long drama with HPN sending me damaged presses, so I'd rather not return this if it's not that big of a deal. They gave me a big discount on this press (15x15 with auto open, slide out platen) to make up for all the hassle.

So I'm here to ask: is this a big deal?

Would you send it back and move on to another company at this point?
Or live with it 'cause the features are nice and they cut you a deal?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
234 Posts
That's a tough one. Sounds like just a frustrating string of bad luck, that you're tired of dealing with, and not necessarily HPN to blame.

I'm a noob, so i have limited hardware experience, but I have 2 pads on my bottom platten 1/4" each, and I can't imagine the plates being so uneven that the mats wouldn't compensate for it. But if your pressure is so uneven that it affects the finished product, then you're doing yourself a disservice to rationalize keeping it. Send it back. The features and price are meaningless if your product is substandard.

·
Administrator
14,319 Posts
Would you send it back and move on to another company at this point?