T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, i am a complete novice.. so please forgive me if this is a pee-wee type of question..

I recently bought a quart of Ulano QTX, i have a question.. It seems to "lock up" in the screen, no matter how long i expose it.
I called Ulano and did a step test in increments of 30 seconds, none of it washed out of the screen..

I am washing it out at dusk with a water hose..

I am exposing using ink-jet transparencies, doubled up, with a 500W halogen light, at 20 inches from the screen.. How long should i expose it?? I am at a loss...

Couple of thoughts was that i kept it in the refrigerator, at about 38 degrees constant temp.... Would that affect it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated..
Ron

·
Registered
828 Posts
the temperature would only cause a possible dripping effect on the screens while drying as the emulsion starts to get to room temperature.

What type of inkjet printer are you using? are you doing anything high detail? Are you pressing the films down onto the screen with a piece of glass? did you take the glass shield off of your exposure unit?

I have a 500W halogen worklight set at about 18inches from the screen(never really measured, but that's what it says from the kit i bought). I expose SAATI HU42 emulsion on a 156-158 mesh screen for about 13 minutes for best results.

I haven't tried the Ulano QTX yet though.
Do you own a 21 step Stouffer test strip?? they are between $6-$12 online and you should place this strip on every screen you expose forever so you don't have to keep guessing exposure times.

Also are you coating, drying, and storing your screens in a lightsafe area?

These are just some questions that might help us diagnose your problem. keep in touch!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the response.. I dont have a stouffer strip, i am waiting on one now.. I did the aluminum foil method, sliding it out a bit every 30 seconds..