T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I have a design I created and wanted to create a stroke-like (I think that's the right lingo!) border around the image. The image is all text and what my customer is looking for is a zebra print border around the text. I haven't the foggiest idea where to even start. Any help would be MUCH appreciated! And specifics, please! I'm new to PS CS3 :)

Here's the image:

· Registered
126 Posts
If you have photoshop you can get a image of the zebra print you want, use a clipping mask over the image and just erase every where you do not want the zebra print, this is a time heavy way but its one way. (don't forget if your bringing in a vector file to photoshop to Size it when you open it to the print size to avoid scaling problems later). I would recommend youtube for clipping mask videos.

· Registered
115 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
The tutorials I'm finding for doing a clipping mask are only if I want the text itself to contain the zebra print. I'd just like the zebra print as a border that "hugs" the contours of my text. Does that make sense? Thank you for your reply. Sorry I didn't explain it too well.

I just attached the image that's SIMILAR to what I'm going for to the original post

· Registered
1,311 Posts
Use the tutorial to make a zebra letter. Then place a slightly smaller solid letter on top. Boom you have a solid letter with a zebra border.

I did this in a few minutes with idraw on the iPad. It demonstrates how working with illustrator to design makes some sense. Photoshop is intended to be a photo manipulator rather then a vector design program. Though over the years they have started including a few creation tools.

If you want to experiment download the free Inkscape and watch a few tutorials.

· Registered
187 Posts
in Photoshop:
* find zebra wallpaper you like and scale it to be somewhat square... and the dpi of image