T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm just starting out on the heat pressing thing and having problems. I've got a cheap press because I want to see how things work out before spending big bucks on a quality press.

I've got a color laser printer and been using it to print on Duracotton HT. I'm getting very inconsistent results. There's 3 variables to heat pressing (temperature, pressure, and time). How do I figure out the best variable to change to get good results? If you're getting partial image transfers, do you increase time, temperature or pressure?

·
Registered
390 Posts
There is no set rule because every press is different. First, ck your temp. with either heat strips or an ir therm. Then add a little dwell time and pressure. Mostly its trial and error till you hit on the rite combination. Good luck

·
Registered
332 Posts
I would say start experimenting. Increase the time over a couple of transfers , if you dont get better results then start increasing the temperature.

·
Registered
6,008 Posts
I suggest you check your temps to make sure they are accurate with a IR thermometer. I bought mine at harbor frieght. This tool will help you regulate your heat temps and also show you if the platen heats evenly. I would then play with the pressure, but know the temps forst. Good luck and happy pressing. ... JB

·
Registered
1,352 Posts
I'm just starting out on the heat pressing thing and having problems. I've got a cheap press because I want to see how things work out before spending big bucks on a quality press.

I've got a color laser printer and been using it to print on Duracotton HT. I'm getting very inconsistent results. There's 3 variables to heat pressing (temperature, pressure, and time). How do I figure out the best variable to change to get good results? If you're getting partial image transfers, do you increase time, temperature or pressure?