T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a question. I started a small t shirt company a few years ago. It is very small but I have a pretty big following on Facebook and a few other sites. My site is being redone and I googled my company name. It seems someone else has copied my logo (very generic but mine without a doubt) and now has trademarked it. I have been using the name for many years and the logo has been mine since 2008 and my designer can prove it. A few days ago, a friend of mine is a country singer and has a few videos and has a HUGE following wants to sell my shirts at his concerts and on his site.. I am now worried about this douche that trademarked my logo.. What am I supposed to do?

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Get an attorney. If you can prove "first use in commerce," the trademark is yours.
I looked into the attorney route.. It will be expensive. Would it be better to change the logo a little than to pay an attorney?(I hate spendin money on attorneys?) Or just keep going and have the douchebag that copied me take me to court? Like, i said, I have had the name since the internet started but the logo I had for about 3 years before "douchebag" trademarked it... Like I said, he did it very generic but he copied me all day long knowing that if I were to go big, he could say" Oh no, that's my trademarked logo"

·
Registered
6,679 Posts
It really depends on what you want to accomplish.

If the logo is yours, then I wouldn't change it just to give in to the douchebag. It's going to make it look like you are copying him rather than the other way around.

If you want to make sure the logo is exclusively yours without any legal trouble in the future, then get an attorney, pay the fees and make sure it's yours.