T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 55 Posts

·
Registered
133 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I thought I might bring up the top 5 design lazy mistakes on t shirts and see what everyone's top 5 design slacker thoughts are.

Here are mine...

1. Quoted tshirts with just text and nothing else
2. Rushed art work that clearly looks crappy
3. Bad printing or peeling heat transfers not ironed properly
4. Off centre or crooked printing
5. Tshirt printed on a lesser quality and clearly crappy tshirt because they ran out of stock of the decent type shirts

Whats your top 5 lazy design mistakes?

;)

·
Registered
103 Posts
i'm really glad to see this post. i'm starting a new company and i'm a writer, not a visual artist. my shirts will be slogan-based, but i don't want them to look like every other shirt out there.

do you guys know of a good designer who is reasonably priced? (i'm not at all sure what "reasonably priced" is. can anyone help?) i wanted to get started quickly, but i really don't want to have crappy shirts with the mistakes you mentioned/others will mention. i don't want them to look like i just slapped a slogan on them. i'm hopefully building something here, so i don't want to mess it up by having run-of-the-mill shirts.

also, if the design is good, then can things still be messed up in the screening process? we ordered a silk screening machine and the person doing the screening has done screening in school but other things besides tees. he is confident he can do it. so i'm wondering if the design is good to go, can he mess it up when screening?

biting my fingernails as i'm typing this. :)

thanks!

veggie

·
Registered
180 Posts
Almost all of my t-shirts are text only and I am proud of them. I like to think that I paint pictures using words. Creating new sayings that are funny, relevant and original does require some degree of talent, aka.

"I use profanity the way Picasso used a paint brush."

Some of mine have a twist on an old saying...