T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
56 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so I'm a newbie,

My start-up has been in the works for the last 2 months and it will be finally up next!
as i was doing the research on how to get started mostly on this site... i saw the services of printmojo and spreadsheat...etc ...

but the deal although not risky doesnt seem like its as profitable as doing everything yourself! I think!

but the service of them mailing the shirt is great, since i just want to market, the site rather than deal w/ packaging and mailing and so on...

so i've decided on an alternative...

what about using an e-commerce fullfillment service... once i have my shirts i would mail it to the company.. and they mail the shirts to the addresse(s) i request

the charges are about 3$ per shipemnt plus shipping... there is also a storage fee usually less than 50$ monthly

so my question is, should i do that and concentrate on marketing or should i mail the packages myself.. keep in mind that i have full time job!! ???

·
2,957 Posts
I don't have my site up and don't have to deal with this yet, so you may want to wait for someone with more experience in the area to answer you, but I will give my .02 for the heck of it!

I think that you should keep your money in your pocket! Use it on marketing! Anything but this! I think a service such as this is only cost effective once you have to take up most/all of your time mailing shirts.

Let's say you are just starting out and you are doing VERY well and selling 100 shirts per month, 25/week. How much time will it actually take you to ship out 25 shirts in a week. I haven't shipped out any shirts, but it can't take THAT long. Now let's look at how much that would cost you. $3 per shirt, multiplied by 100 shirts, plus the $50 monthly fee...that's $350! Talk about profit-eating! Ouch!:eek: