T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone,
I'm new to this. I have a problem. I found a tajima neo for sale in my area but, it is a 2006 model, and it only reads floppy disks. Floppy disks going to be very hard to find in a couple of years, because they aren't going to make them any more. Are there ways around this or should I avoid buying this machine?
thanks,
Colleen

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I dont know if I posted this right. I have gotten no replies. Most of the new machines have USB ports. the old models have floppy disks. I heard floppy disks are no longer being made. Does anyone know about this?

·
Registered
600 Posts
My single head Tajima is 13 years old and only takes floppy discs. Don't stress about the floppy end of transferring info to the machine. You can reuse the discs. Keep your embroidery files on your HD and put them on the floppy when you need them. I also back up my designs to an external HD, just to be safe. My Barudan & Tajima both take floppies and I'm not worried at all.

·
Registered
582 Posts
3.5" floppies are being phased out, just the steady march forward of technology.
But, if you like/want this machine, then buy it.
Then buy a couple of hundred floppies to use with it.

I only use floppies to load the deisgn into machine, so I am constantly reformatting them to put the designs on.

Original designs are kept on my computer and I only place the design on a floppy disc when it is needed.

I have two machines, 1 x single head and 1 x 4 head, both around 10 years old and going strong. I buy my floppies in boxes of 100.

Having said that, if this phasing out is a concern for you then buy a machine that has a USB port and use a USB stick to transfer designs to the machine.

When the day comes I can't buy floppies for my machines, I will buy a USB adaptor for them.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5