T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I am just getting started, very small scale. I have an online entertainment product and I'm just opening my store to fans.

So my question. 6.1 or 5.5 oz?

Now I have a 6.1 oz. shirt, mighty fine. The question I have, is how does a 5.5 compare? Would it be too light to the point where it would seem like a "cheap" t-shirt or undershirt? Is it the kind of thing where people would say, "oh, this guy is just selling me an undershirt with something printed on it?"

I want to sell a quality product, because I care about my fans, but if 5.5 is still standard, still good, then I have no problem. I'm afraid I just don't know yet.

The shirts will be white (with print), if that makes a difference.

Thanks!

· Registered
56 Posts
I agree, you're safer off going with the 6.1oz. Quite frankly, it really depends on the fabric blend content. I've seen rather durable 4.5oz fabric blends like cotton/cool max. So if you're buying typical 100% combed cotton blank shirts, go with 6.1oz. If it's a blend, I'd recommend getting some samples before you buy.

· Registered
74 Posts
I think that young t-shirt consumers are split about 50/50 on this one.

The hip-hop crowd seems to prefer and value baggier, heavier shirts and think, as you mentioned, that a thin shirt feels cheap.

At the same time sheer ringspun shirts are the norm for high fashion these days. Stop by banana, gap, AE, etc next time you're at the mall and i bet you'd have a hard time finding a heavy cotton tee shirt. Finely spun tees cost more but they can fetch a higher retail price.

I'd say that compromising with the 5.5 is not the answer here - neither group will be happy - nobody likes a thin feeling "normal" cotton tee.