T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

So I'm new to the whole t-shirt business. I've been wanting to start my own clothing brand, building my way from t-shirts to eventually doing more like pants, shoes, etc. I've invested into a heat press and some other supplies like a cutting board, printers, and so on. I've been playing around with making shirts for about a couple weeks now, but I've been running into some complications.

I made an 11x17 design, printed it to 11x17 white garment transfer paper from Photo Paper Direct, and pressed it to the shirt using my 15x15 heat press. Since the design was slightly larger than the length of the press, I had to press one part of the design, then the other part, which seemed to work out well. The shirt, which is 100% cotton, came out looking great! However, over time, I noticed that the top of the design started to peel and wrinkle. I'm concerned about this, as I won't be able to start selling professionally and building my business until the quality of the shirts are up to expectations. I've heard people saying to stretch out the shirt after it's done to make it "last longer." I haven't been doing that in fear it would rip the design apart, so I'm not sure if this would be where my problem lies. I've tried searching for answers on Google, but to no avail.

Is there any advice someone could lend me? If so, could you dumb it down for me? xD
As I said, I'm new to all of this so I'm not gonna be knowledgeable on the terms and abbreviations y'all are likely to use.

It's much, much appreciated! <3

·
Registered
200 Posts