T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Afternoon Ya'll,
I'm a Jeweler, working predominantly in engraved copper...I had the brilliant idea to do some less expensive items using my original art ( wildlife/native american oriented) ,and sublimation printing on copper disks, and also on small wood plaques. I've read most of the forums involved in this, and understand about the white aspect, its not an issue for what Im doing....but I do want flat non uniform shapes as a substrate...and most designs will only be in black

Anyone have any ideas on a DIY coating that I won't have to take a mortgage out to buy, and that works??

I know this is not t-shirt related , but I'm about to pull my hair out.
I ended up on the Tshirt forum after following a google link regarding a DIY coating for sublimation printing on metal/wood.

Appreciate any info I can get on this matter...thanks guys
Steve

·
Registered
8,082 Posts
I have been doing sublimation since 1997...I have tried DIY application of polymer coating on wood, metal, hardboard etc...and I have yet to find anything that is commercially viable...you will get runs, blemishes, brush marks, etc....I have tried ceramic tile from the local hardware store. In any case the coating will not be uniform and will not hold the image remember sublimation requires the ink/gas to be forced into the substrate by pressure...I don't think you will have much luck...post if you do

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Hey Charles,
I will definetly post if I run across anything that works. I see this is a topic a good few people are interested in. I am kind of wondering if perhaps thinned polyester resin shot thru an airbrush would work. I also saw digicoat, or some such, and might give that a shot before I go playing mad scientist.