T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to purchase a copy of Coreldraw X3 and I have noticed that there is a student/teacher version available which is significantly cheaper than the standard X3 (about $500AU). I'm wondering if anyone knows if the student version is any different to the standard version eg does it come with less features, or is it the same version only offered at a lower price? Yes I am a poor potato eating student

·
Registered
382 Posts
David, the student version should have all of the same functionality as the retail version. The thing is it's supposed to be for non-commercial use, thats why it's so cheap. But who's going to find out right? ;)

·
Registered
950 Posts
David,

Personally I wouldn't get the student version.

It is the same exact thing as the full retail version, except that you do not get the clip art collection, font collection, some of the manuals, and maybe a few other extras. The core program is the same.

The biggest thing is that you also do not get tech support and you do not qualify for future upgrades. That means if you want X4 later you will have to pay the full price again.

If you look around, you can get X3 Full Retail version for about $200, but you have to be careful and read all the fine print of the ads. Most of the people selling the student version try to do their best to make you think you are buying the full retail version.

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
And I haven't heard of the student iPod skipping every fourth track, or the academic Word not having spellcheck.

Can't say I'm particularly impressed with that business move. Maybe it's the eternal student in me...

·
Premium Member
10,512 Posts
Fluid said:
Dont be that cheap the program not that expensive