T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I'm pretty new to this but if any of you could help me out I'd greatly appreciate it.
I want to transfer some designs onto canvases stretched over wooden frames.
I tried ironing-on (with a standard iron) some cheap transfer paper I got from Staples onto a canvas stretched over a wooden frame (18 cm wide 24 cm long and 4 cm thick). Because of the thickness of the frame there was nothing directly underneath the canvas providing support so I used some books to create a hard surface for ironing on as suggested. I left the iron to heat up for about 30 minutes and ironed slowly pressing down hard for about 20 minutes I left the transfer paper and canvas to cool down for about an hour. When I peeled it off the picture flaked off in parts looking terrible.

Is it possible to use transfer paper on canvas stretched over a wooden frame and get a good quality finish?

Once again any help would be really appreciated

·
Registered
387 Posts
What is the size of the canvas? (left the cm measurement back in high school . .L*~)
you can purchase pre-stretched canvas and print directly onto the canvas from any kind of color printer
you can find it on ebay -- do a search for --- ink jet canvas ---
you can also use a color laser printer also . .
with this type of canvas you won't have to use a transfer

I use the pre-stretched canvas for family Coat of Arms and ink jet or laser comes out beautimist

Diane;)

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The only canvases I have are already stretched over wooden frames of course I could buy some normal canvas but it would be a waste of money unless I knew for sure I could iron transfer paper onto it with an ordinary iron and get a decent finish that doesn't flake when I peel the paper off.