T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,
I am a recent start up design company that does audio, visual, print and clothing. I have trademarked two designs for my company. My parents have a friend who is a screen printer and he has complained that people have stolen various designs he does on T's. However, I am a graphic design artist as well and will be producing VERY unique designs that would be obvious if anyone tried to sell them. My concern is, when i send my designs in to get a supply of plastisol transfers, has anyone heard of that company copying or stealing designs to use on t's in their art catalog, or to sell to other clients?
Of course since my company and its logos are trademarked I would sue the **** out of anyone trying to copy any of my designs...
so what say you? anyone ever worried about their art being stolen?

·
Registered
3,187 Posts
I don't think you have to worry so much about professional printing companies copying your designs. If you are concerned about this happening with a particular company, talk to some people who have worked with them before.

In the end, you can't know for sure 100% either way. But like you said, you have them trademarked - so if it happens, it happens, and you will sue their pants off. :)

·
Premium Member
27,689 Posts
My concern is, when i send my designs in to get a supply of plastisol transfers, has anyone heard of that company copying or stealing designs to use on t's in their art catalog, or to sell to other clients?
That should be the VERY least of your concerns. Printers print for companies large and small. They see thousands of VERY unique designs each year and have no interest in stealing one or selling one. They just want to print your design and move on to the next job they have to run.

I've never heard of that happening at all.