T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
128 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,
I am new to this forum but have read it quite extensively over the month. I have a few concerns that I am looking for a few opinions on from the pros. I have read all the Screen Print vs Heat Transfer posts so I am not just asking this being lazy.--So heres my deal I am sick of making everyone else rich and getting walked all over. Recently laid off again as a professional graphic designer I am fed up working for the man so I started thinking of the jobs I really enjoyed doing and it was screen printing. So now here I am wanting to start my own shirt business like a lot of others. I have experience screen printing and using heat transfer materials printed on a versa cam using heat transfer material not Plastisol. To me it seems screen printing is the best way to go but the Plastisol heat press seems wonderful with less clean up and work etc. Now my market is to sell to fundraisers and that sort of thing with the many connections I have, but I figure since I am a designer I should also have my own line/web store. So here are a few of my concerns I am looking for opinions on:

If you have an online T-Shirt store using only transfers how can it be profitable?----If you have a design you think will sell that is 4 colors there are minimum amount of Transfers you must order going way over the cost of the shirt. Now suppose you only sell one shirt you are then stuck with the transfer you paid for, losing money right?

How can you be sure a design will sell? Do you sell the shirt then order the transfers? Or do you order the transfers all at once?