T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've done a lot of reading on screen printing and heat press, and have come to the conclusion that I would like to begin a screen printing business. I like the look and feel and versatility of screen printing versus the heat press.
Anyway, my question is, especially to someone who has been in business for a long time...I'm in the process of writing my business plan, and I need projections! I do my own art work (even though I'm a novice with photoshop) which is what I would be using for my shirts. How much does it all cost? I'm totally lost and I really need help! I'm itching to start my business, but I wanna do it right! If anyone has any advice, please, it would be so appreciated!

·
Registered
5 Posts
I read the "How To Print T-Shirts For Fun And Profit" book

and it seemed to answer all kind of initial questions, and was an all around great resource, I'm even guilty of bringing it with me when I went to purchase from a supplier just to cut through the "where are you coming from questions" and have my hand held a bit.

·
Registered
1 Posts
I run a screen printing business. If you are planning on printing from home, you won't have to worry about rental/lease expense. If you are planning on opening up a retail shop you have to find a location and factor in the lease, supplies, etc. The equipment is what will cost you. Our 6 head was like $9 or 10K I believe an automatic is like $20K as far as I know. You need to purchase all the inks you will need, conveyor(drying inks), screens, cleaning and prepping equipment, emulsion, exposure unit, flash cure for multi color prints, different pallets for left sleeve prints, hat prints, etc. I koow I'm missing a lot of other things too.

Also you need to build a clientele which is not easy. A lot of people already have an established printer so you have to make sure your sales pitch is right.