T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 20 of 45 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm new to this forum. Looking to invest in a DTG printer. This will be out of the home and small runs and small jobs for the most part. Probably will want to print on white and darks. I'm very familiar with traditional screen printing and I was a graphic designer in my past. DTG is new to me and I've been out of the graphic design business for 20 years. I'm seeing some older postings but this technology is changing weekly it appears so I'm attempting to get the latest and most updated info.

1) What is a good start up (dependable) printer for home use and small runs? A good heat press that is reputable would also be needed I imagine to set the ink.

2) I'm not familiar with inkjet DTG printing to any extent. Is it dependably applied and able to endure washings like traditional screen printing? Does it hold up with the garment when done correctly?

Any information or upcoming DTG printers/technology ideas would be welcome. I'm coming in ground level and I'm seeing a lot of positives and negatives on different printers which in many ways makes it confusing. One guy says he loves the HM1 while another guy says it sucks.

Some of you may know of new DTG equipment about to be introduced to the market and maybe I should hold off a few months? Not sure. I'm not interested in spending a fortune, maybe up to 15K since it's just a start up and a supplement income business.

Thanks. Look forward to all of your insights

Jeff

· Registered
5,540 Posts
Jeff-

15K is very reasonable..but I can save you alot more especially starting up in a home based business

Here is what you need to look into

-used/refurbished DTG Kiosk2 or T-Jet2 (fraternal twins) $4k-$7K
~~ w/ RIP V.O4 software not sure actual cost if not included
-preferably a newer Digital Knight DK20 with auto-pop-up $1200
-in conversion...seriously any ink you get from these first ad's throw away immediately..