T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello.

Excuse me if there are some other threads regarding this topic, this is my first post ever.

Anyways, I am looking to make some shirts using a stencil design. However, I am not looking to screen print because I don't want that heavy shiny look. I am looking for a really flat one tone look that blonds with the t-shirt, such as a spray painted look. I just want it to be fairly opaque and not fade too much in the wash, but also look like it is of good quality for what it is. I will only be using black paint. What do you believe is my best choice? Airbrushing, spray painting, fabric painting, acrylics, etc... I am looking to spend as little as possible as I am a beginner and don't have any equipment. Any additional advice would also be appreciated.

Thanks.

· Registered
168 Posts
Airbrush would work best in my opinion, because you can buy specific paint for apparel. Spray paint can(but not always) get sticky, heavy and messy on shirts.

Of course if cost is the issue, go get some cheap cans of black spray from your local hardware store and spray away!

· Registered
168 Posts
As far as opacity, there are some pretty nice opaque paints for $3-$5 a bottle.

As far as cost, it depends on what you consider "cheaply".

If you want to do it super cheap...get a straw, load it with paint and blow through it(sarcasm).

For a cheaper set up, here is a google search for cheap arbrushes. You'll need an air source(can or compressor).

Google

· Registered
2,428 Posts
Have you done airbrushing before? If you plan on doing one of a kind shirts this would be the way to go. However I would suggest getting yourself a small compressor to use with the airbrush, canned air can get expensive in a hurry if you are doing a lot of work.

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
I have a standard/basic air compressor that is mostly used to inflate tires, would that work?