T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Forum,

First of all, I can't thank you enough for all of the help that all of you have provided to folks like us trying to make a go of our business dreams.

I am self taught (still teaching/learning) and would like to embark on doing my own screen printing for our business.

I am trying to work through color separations but don't think I have this right. I have posted the .jpg version of my .ai file as well as the output .pdf of the separations which was done using GhostScript and Adobe Illustrator. This is my first attempt at separation.

After the process, I was hoping to see all of my 2 or 3 colors (Black, Gray and maybe White) broken out into their own pages/layers.

All of my colors are supposed to be Spot (black is Pantone Black C, Pantone White, Pantone 447). Test.jpg is the image of my original .ai file and Test.pdf is the separations.

Can anyone say what went wrong please?

Regards

Attachments

·
Registered
160 Posts
Hard to tell which separation is which in this PDF.

Guessing... I would say that page 1 is black
Page 2 is 447
Page 3 is white

When you output your seps have illustrator include the printing marks. Print dialog -> Marks and Bleeds -> all printers Marks.

This will put important info on the page so you can tell which separation each page is supposed to be.

Its hard to tell if this is correct or not without looking at your original illustrator file. If you're mixing colors in gradients then you'll get separations that look like this.

If you're worried that your ghostscript settings are off then try printing a pdf with host based separations. In the print dialog go to output.

Mode: Host Based separation
Emulsion: Up (right Reading)
Image: Positive