T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been making shirts for about 6 months now. I print transfers directly from my computer, and heat press them on white shirts. How exactly does screenprinting work? I have no clue. For transfers that go with heat presses, all you need is a printer, special ink, special paper, a heat press and a shirt. What is the basic equipment to screen print? Is it cheaper, easier? I want to branch out, and have no idea where to begin. Thanks

·
Registered
344 Posts
I am in the same boat as you Ray. Maybe you could look into a local art class on screen printing. Or maybe you could strike up a friendship with a local screen printer to show you the ropes.
As far as equipment, I dont have a clue either. So I am glad you started this thread!

·
Registered
4,766 Posts
I think there are advantages of both. I don't want the mess of screen printing. But I would like to know more about how it is done. I just knocked out a 100 piece order for tee's and I had to print, cut, press. It was amazing that I had to redo only 3 shirts.. However, I forgot several times to mirror the image...I printed one shirt upside down (did I tell you i was old) My printer jammed and I lost several transfer in trying to fix it.. had to take print back for replacement (warrenty good) But I got extra ink out of the deal and my paper guy (bless him) gave me extra paper because he (never mind on that) so I came out ok.. Lou (old retired guy)

·
Registered
950 Posts
That's a geat link Squirts, thanks.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Thanks for that link it really helped! I am new to all of this and have been reading this site for a few days. That has really helped me on the idea of screen printing.

Cheers!

·
Registered
28 Posts