T-Shirt Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It costs me $500 to print these up. I want them to be sold for $15. I want $10 dollars per shirt from the stores that I will start putting them for sale in. Since I'm just starting out, I'd honestly be fine getting as little as $8 on them if that's what it took to get them in the stores to get the ball rolling. If my clothing line gets rolling I know I can make numbers based on quantity with the various designs I plan on putting out soon after. I believe in the brand for the long haul.

For those with experience, do you think I am expecting too much or too little for my first shirt?

·
Registered
1,555 Posts
Hi. You have paid $500 for 100 shirts. You need to sell at least fifty of these just to get your money back. If you sell all 100 shirts to a retailer at your proposed prices, you will make a gross profit of $300-$500.

Working purely on those figures, to make an income of just $300 dollars per week, you will need to be selling one hundred shirts to these stores every week.

The questions you have to ask yourself, is how many of your many shirts, would you expect a retailer to sell in a week, why will a store stock your products and what is the minimum purchase you will expect them to make?

In many cases, that purchase could be as little as ten shirts.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I've considered that. If they move really slow, I won't be making life changing money. As I come out with other designs, I know I'll want some of them to retail for more.

I know I'm not making a lot of money on my hundred shirts, but it's the name I want to build. I know I'll be spending a whole lot of time networking, driving to stores, meeting with them and pitching the shirts, all kinds of time will be spent and money wise it won't seem worth the reward in the very beginning.