T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3,800 Posts
After reading this forum for over a year, and seeing what heat transfers can do, I've decided to jump in and experience the heat press/heat transfer world first hand.
yeah well, it has not been easy on this board ME making people aware what can be done with plastisol transfers and how easy they are to apply.

Actually i found myself discouraged with some of the BAD rep replies I have received. But i continue to beleive that once peeps try the real good stuff they will never look back. Yourself included Rodney.

I wish you the best in your new venture. :D

·
Registered
3,800 Posts
Lucy,

Do tell more about the plastisol transfers. I just heard about them at the Long Beach show. I'm a small-time t-shirt designer that's been taking my business to the local screenprinter for the past year and half. Looking for an economical (and feasible) way to print 3-5 shirts at a time, if need be. Can you or anyone else in this thread tell me a little about the plastisol transfer process? Do you need a big industrial heat press to use it? OR one of the machines referenced in this discussion? What's the average upfront fee to set up the design and run batch of transfers?

All ears,
Althea
Hi Althea,

btw. one of my dear, long time friends name is Althea too.

Well, all you really need is a good heat press machine. It takes up a few square feet of space only and plugs in to your wall outlet (make sure you have at least a 20 amp wall plug).

Then, a good economical way of making custom transfers (they are the same quality as screen printing) is to do up a few of your designs that use the same colors and gang them up on a transfer sheet. Sheet size are like: 10x12, 12x14, 12x18, 25x38, 28x40. So the more designs you can fit on a sheet the lower the cost per design will be. :)