T-Shirt Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

· Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm new to screen printing! It's been a lot of trial and error to say the least. I'm using water based speedball ink. This time around I'm experience a lot of small smudging on my printed shirts after the first wash.

I've had a couple of successful attempts in the past, where I let my shirts air dry after printing for a few days (I just forgot about them), heat set the print with a regular iron, than ran them through my washer and dryer.

This time, I was a bit impatient and heat set my shirts after just under 24 hrs of air drying. I threw them in the wash and they looked fine. Then, I threw them in the dryer and all these small smudges appeared.

What might I be doing wrong? Is there a way to remove these stains?

I tried washing another set today and same thing happened. Luckily I test dried one first, and the smudges aren't as bad but they're still there. I'm just letting the wet shirts hang dry for now until I find a solution.

Textile Sleeve Font T-shirt Pattern

· Registered
4,694 Posts
I'd assume that the ink wasn't fully cured, so rubbed off a bit on other parts of the garment.

What do the curing instructions say for your ink?

I use different water based inks and cure it with a heat press at 340F for one minute to a minute and a half, depending on the ink.

In comparing what you do with what I do, consider that the entire print is heated for the entire time using my method, whereas your iron is in one place then another. You probably need to let the iron sit in one place for the full curing time, then move it to the next place, as opposed to keeping the thing in motion as if you were ironing.

· Registered
167 Posts
Hi all, I'm new to screen printing! It's been a lot of trial and error to say the least. I'm using water based speedball ink. This time around I'm experience a lot of small smudging on my printed shirts after the first wash.